Welcome to Iowa Greyhound Association

Main Menu
  • Home
  • Newsletters
  • Search
  • Stories Archive
  • Surveys
  • Web Links
  • Downloads

  • Who's Online
    There are currently, 15 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

    You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here

    Greyhound Racing 2005 TRAINER OF THE YEAR: LORI FORTUNE
    Posted byadmin on Friday, December 30 @ 19:16:33 EST
    Contributed by admin

    Fortune combines a lot of work and a lot of love

    By STEVE SIGAFOOSE, Non Pareil Staff Writer

    A lot work and a lot of love is the formula Lori Fortune has used and it has earned her Trainer of the Year honors at Bluffs Run.
    "I'll bet we put in 70 hours a week," said Fortune, who handles the Harlan Brother Kennel, "but I love it."
    Fortune's story started 20 years ago when "my parents (greyhound owners Bev and Arthur Yates) got me interested. I went from managing a grocery story to managing a kennel, but I love the job."
    Managing a kennel means taking care of 70 greyhounds. Currently it's a bit busier than usual as 60 greyhounds are active, eligible to race. Usually 40-45 greyhounds are active.
    While "excited" about the award, Fortune was quick to point out the operation of the kennel "is a great team effort. I have excellent help with Joe Bloom and Darrell Holt. The Harlan Brothers are so good. They give us what we ask for and send us great greyhounds."
    Fortune was also quick to say thank-you to a couple of Bluffs Run's other trainers, Don Conatser of the Rick Bartley Kennel, a two-time Trainer of the Year, and Ray Brownell of the Plum Creek Kennel.
    "I worked with Don," said Fortune, "and I follow what he taught me. My dad has always said that training with Don is like getting a college education.
    "Ray has really helped me a lot the last couple of years. He's just awesome on the subject of injuries and he'll do anything to help."
    Under Fortune's direction, the kennel has moved from last place in the kennel standings to fourth place (out of 15) this year.
    When asked for the keys to being a trainer, Fortune just smiled.
    "We are just very good to our greyhounds."

    Trainers Of The Year

    2005-Lori Fortune

    2004-Linda Willey

    2003-Don Conaster

    2002-Don Conaster

    2001-Joe Osborne

    2000-Jim Lovely

    1999-Jay Rangel and Jim Prescott

    1998-Tracy Nelson and Darlene White

    1997-Louise Strong

    1996-Andy Baker

    r 1995-Randy Montgomery

    1994-Jeff Grubbels

    1993-Mark Arno

    1992-Jeff Wilhite

    1991-Rich Tomlinson

    1990-Ron Mullen

    1989-Bill Henry

    1988-Marvin Anderson

    " 2005 TRAINER OF THE YEAR: LORI FORTUNE" | Login/Create an Account | 0 comments
    The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.

    No Comments Allowed for Anonymous, please register
    Big Story of Today
    There isn't a Biggest Story for Today, yet.



    Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like theme manager, comments configuration and post comments with your name.

    Old Articles
    Tuesday, January 24
    · Cessation Fund
    Tuesday, January 17
    · Attention
    Saturday, January 07
    · 2017 Greyhound Adoption Reunion
    Wednesday, December 28
    Monday, October 24
    · $145,000 Iowa Breeders Cup Stakes Final at the Iowa Greyhound Park by Steve Siga
    Tuesday, October 18
    · fourth and final round of qualifying for the $145,000 Iowa Breeders Cup
    Friday, October 14
    · 3rd round $145,000 Iowa Breeder Race by Steve Sigafoose
    Monday, October 10
    · Iowa Breeders Cup second round story by Steve Sigafoose
    Monday, October 03
    · First Round of $145,000 Iowa Breeder Race by Steve Sigafoose
    Monday, September 26
    · Iowa Greyhound Park $30,000 future Star Final

    Older Articles

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2007 by the Iowa Greyhound Association.
    SEO Blog | Photoshop CS6 keygen
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.08 Seconds